Northland Youth Wrestling Association

Minnesota’s Premier Wrestling Association

To support, promote and raise the level of competition in youth folk style wrestling by providing a series of well-organized tournaments where endurance and skill determine who prevails.

2017 NYWA Tournament Schedule

MN State High School Wrestling: March 2-4
NYWA Districts: March 10-12 and March 17-19
NYWA Regions: March 24-25 (team dates will vary)
NYWA State: March 30 - April 2
Easter Sunday: April 16

View 2017 State Itinerary or Invite Itinerary (revised 3/23/17)

Good Luck to all wrestlers and teams competing at regions this weekend!

Buy or Renew Memberships

To log into your account for membership information or tournament registration, click here.  PLEASE do NOT purchase or renew your memberships on a phone as errors seem to occur when doing so.
Coaches/clubs - please do NOT mail in forms for your club without payment.  Only those memberships that are received with payment will be entered.  We will not accept emailed membership forms.

*NYWA is for residents of MN only.

7-8 State Team Registration

Teams signed up: BBE, ACGC, United, Glenwood, Royalton Upsala, ANML, Stewartville, Hutch/BLHS, USC, Faribault, Minneota, WML, Northfield, GMLOS, Minnetonka, STMA, Buffalo, Ottertail, Brainerd, Byron, Rochester Mayo, Becker, K-W, BEA, K-M, Bemidji, PEM, Big Lake, LAMR, Z-M, Waconia, Foley.
Teams have until March 16th to withdraw without penalty.

K-6 Region Team Tournament

Region 1, 3 and 5 - these tournaments will be held this coming weekend.

Results for K-6 team regions (click on the region below):
Region 2
Region 4

2016 NYWA Special Awards


2016 Outstanding Wrestlers

OW for 7/8 ~ Riley Stoltz (Faribault at 115 lbs)

OW for 5/6 ~ Anthony Moe-Tucker (Kasson-Mantorville at 215 lbs)

OW for 3/4 ~ Will Sather (Eden Prairie at 155 lbs)

OW for 1/2 ~ Jaxon Bartkowicz (Holdingford at 80 lbs)

OW for K ~ Lincoln Robideau (Bold at 55 lbs)


2016 OW's, Coaches of the Year and Team Sportsmanship:
7/8 Team Coaches of the Year ~ Kane Kline, Steve Thompson & Mathew Petersen
7/8 Team Sportsmanship Award~ Faribault
7/8 Outstanding Wrestler ~ Mitchell Petersen (Byron)

K-6 Team Coach of the Year ~ Aaron Hempl (ANML)
K-6 Team Sportsmanship Award ~ MAHACA
K-6 Outstanding Wrestler ~ Donavon Felten (GMLOKS)

NEW MN STATE LAW: NYWA is responsible for implementation of new legislation regarding concussions in youth sports. In compliance with State legislation, NYWA has made the information available on our website to complete the Heads Up: Concussion in Youth Sports course, as well as information regarding the sport of wrestling and the inherent risk of concussions. The course is a free, online training course that can be completed in 30-45 minutes. NYWA highly recommends that every wrestler and parent complete this training. At any NYWA event, the athletic trainer/medical staff will have final authority regarding athlete’s ability to resume activity. The course can be accessed at:  The Minnesota Legislature passed legislation (MN Statute 121A.37 and 121A.38) in 2011 regarding youth athletes, concussions and return to play.  Review the entire law.

©2017 Northland Youth Wrestling Association Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced or redistributed without the express written permission of NYWA, Inc.

Home | Tournament Registration | Related Links | Contact Us | Membership | Tournament Calendar | Results | Hotel Information | Q & A | Weight Classes

website design & development by reynolds design studio - rochester mn.